Archive for March 12th, 2010

Friday, March 12, 2010

Wu Guanghui: Very moving Interview

The interview is conducted at the Great Hall of the People’s Eastern Gate, and Wu Guanghui (吴光辉) considerately asks me: “Are you feeling cold?” As I thank him for getting out of the Great Hall of the People to grant me the interview, he says: “Your persistence was moving.” As there had been so many interviews in recent days, he worries for the journalists that “basically, all the news have now been reported”. But not surprisingly, before I came there I had prepared myself carefully. In a twenty-minutes’ interview, despite the cold wind, the chief designer only left after having answered all my questions.

From the Beijing Times (京华时报), published online by E-North. Wu Guanghui, China Commercial Aircraft Co., Ltd. (中国商用飞机有限责任公司) deputy general manager and chief designer is a member of the Chinese People’s Political Consultative Conference, and the journalist, being denied entry into the hall, had sent Wu a text message, asking for an interview at the hall’s eastern gate on Thursday.

(The eastern gate is where Mao Xinyu (毛新宇) had been looking for his car six days earlier.)

____________

Related / same topic:
C919’s debut flight scheduled for 2014, chinatibet.people.com.cn, March 12, 2010
Trunkliner named C919, Aviation Week, March 9, 2009