Twitter or X – does it still matter?

My initial motivation to start using a Twitter account was to draw more attention to this blog. I realized early on that this wouldn’t happen; people on Twitter rarely click links.

20181108

All the same, Twitter was a medium to keep reading because it helped me to stay up to date about global politics in general, and about China’s internal affairs (such as international united-front work etc.) just as well.
By now, Twitter has lost much of its luster. I’m not as disappointed or angry as many other users are, because Twitter can still provide a reasonably good feed about current affairs that I’m focusing on, but it’s not nearly as good as it used to be – one of the problems being that many intelligent users are leaving it. And of course, I’m aware that there’s a guy at the wheel who probably has no idea what he’s doing, so I’m using feed readers and search machines far more often again than I used to during the past 3.5 years.

“X” means dead, in German. I suppose it can mean the same thing in English – given that there are those smiley with two “x-ed” eyes. OK, it doesn’t mean “dead” in those smiley cases, it just means “little hope”.
Anyway, the internet is big – Twitter, “X”, whatever, is just a small part of it, and probably a diminuishing one.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.