Blogging: My Seven Links

Foarp has kindly nominated this blog for Tripbase‘s blogosphere snowball scheme, umm, My Seven Links project. If you don’t know what that means, please look it up here.

It looks like a nice opportunity for me to revisit some of my older blogposts, and to nominate five more blogs myself.

Tripbase Rule #1: Blogger is nominated to take part. OK, I’m nominated.

Tripbase Rule #2: Blogger points to seven of his old blogposts, re seven different categories. Here we go…

  • My most Beautiful Post: that would be Tsai Ing-wen – the Turning Point. It’s a translation, and it’s really the original – DPP chairwoman Tsai Ing-wen’s concession speech after losing her Xinbei mayoral campaign. The speech acknowledged the setback, and pointed to the future. Tsai is now the DPP’s candidate for the January 2012 presidential elections.
  • My most Popular Post: China: Authoritarian or Totalitarian? It has been among the top-five almost every day since I wrote it, in March 2010.
  • My most Controversial Post: To Sum Things Up. There have been threads with more comments, reacting to other posts, but this was a rare one in that an angry Chinese nationalist showed up. It was a challenging debate, and I think it is also one where I explain myself in more detail than anywhere else on this blog.
  • My Most Helpful Post:The Costs of Running a Trade Surplus. I think it’s the only one where I was told that it was helpful, so this is easy to decide.
  • A Post whose Success surprised me: The BBC Globescan Opinion Poll. A German paper’s online edition linked to it, and statistics exploded.
  • A Post I Feel didn’t get the Attention it Deserved: Two Deadlocked Affairs, One Constructive Approach. My peace initiative was ignored by the global public, and in the end, I had to keep the sculptures I originally planned to send to Beijing.
  • The Post I’m Most Proud of: Renault “Spying Scandal”: not so Chinese, not so Spy. It is irrefutable proof that this blogger (usually) thinks before he opens his big mouth, that he is a China expert, that he is a France expert, too, and it carries one of his nicest pictures.

OK, these are my seven links. Done.

Tripbase Rule #3: Blogger nominates up to 5 more bloggers to take part:

  1. Echo Taiwan – I feel that he should post much more frequently, but when he does post, it catches my attention. Both his own blog posts and his blog roll (which updates itself automatically to the right) help me to stay informed about Taiwanese politics.
  2. High Peaks, Pure Earth – it offers views which are quite different from Beijing’s narrative. I could have nominated Woeser’s Invisible Tibet, too, but HPPE is all in English, and translates many of Woeser’s Chinese-language posts.
  3. Huo Long’s Blog – our views of the world are very different, but I’m learning a lot  from his writing style, and I owe his blog many useful expressions and proverbs.
  4. Jun Jie’s China Blog – about the frustrations and joys of learning Chinese as a foreign language, plus advice for learners.
  5. Taihan’s Tales – News from the Pacific Rim, not least Taiwan, as Taihan sees it. Not only his blog posts, but his comments too, are often insightful.

Done, too. Now it’s your turn. If you like, that is. Let me steal this line from Foarp’s nomination: it’s all voluntary, but I look forward to seeing what you guys come up with. And if you share my feel that the blogosphere could use a buzz, just kick this snowball and keep it rolling.

Tags: ,

6 Responses to “Blogging: My Seven Links”

  1. Great selection. Btw, how many have you posted so far all together and how long do you blog? This tag is really great to highlight some forgotten posts from the past 🙂 Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  2. I prefer to think of as a virtuous Ponzi scheme. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  3. There’s little for anyone to lose in this virtuous Ponzi scheme, Foarp. That’s what makes it so easy to participate.

    This is my 1,429th post, MKL. I started posting on April 10, 2008. So, I really had to think for a while about my seven links among them, but to nominate five blogs that hadn’t been nominated previously was still trickier. Wish I could have listed a few more.

    Like

Trackbacks

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.