Five Years of Blogging with WordPress

I won’t get into a regular ritual of marking anniversaries or statistical records (high or low), but this this is the day in history when I started blogging, five years ago.

Something like 1,960 posts since – some of them very short, though.

My personal favorite is probably this one, a few words about history.

And the one forever in the top posts (usually no. 1, but almost certainly among the top five whenever you look, is the one about authoritarianism and totalitarianism.

Many thanks for the comments, discussions, and advice.

8 Responses to “Five Years of Blogging with WordPress”

  1. What can I say JR other than a big congratulations.
    Always my first port of call when I switch on in the morning and the appreciation of radio is a bonus.
    And I’ll even say nice things about cats today.

    Like

  2. I am still not sure about Chinas authoritarianism or totalitarianism. It’s a puzzling question.

    Like

  3. Congratulations for your just recently (pun intended) achieved 5 years of blogging. I had my anniversary two weeks ago, and I had no idea, that we started off with blogging in the same period. I actually came across your blog through Yo Learn Chinese, which was interesting to read somewhere in 2009 I think, but the author later stopped updating. You are one of the most passionate bloggers I know, delivering great content on regular basis. I was especially pleased, when you switched your old template for the current one – it’s simplistic and user friendly, something I like a lot. I hope you will continue blogging for another 5 years. Without your translations of Chinese media and intelligent insights in the psyche of CPP my understanding of China (and Taiwan) would be much poorer.

    I was wondering, do you ever get offers from some known media (let’s say non-German) to write a piece for them? Examples like WSJ, Diplomat…?

    Like

  4. And I’ll even say nice things about cats today.

    Ceyda will love you long time for that, KT.

    I am still not sure about Chinas authoritarianism or totalitarianism. It’s a puzzling question.

    Me either. But I’m inclined to see China as totalitarian. Btw, if it wasn’t bad for business, the German political class would rate China totalitarian for sure. EU parlamentarians even labeled the former Polish People’s Republic totalitarian a few years ago – which was hardly fitting.

    I was wondering, do you ever get offers from some known media …

    No, not really. I might, if I advertised my real name more aggressively (that would probably build trust). This blog did several mentions on the WSJ blogshow in 2008 or 2009 though, and does get mentions in the South China Morning Post’s blog review, once in a while.

    Like

  5. Many congratulations on a lustrum of blogging and my best wishes for further aeons of it.

    Like

  6. I don’t know, but that cat looks like it has lost its moral compass.

    Like

  7. I appreciate the tacit acknowledgement that cats may have a moral compass at all. Encouraging progress. Btw, you may have overlooked the little compass underneath her – one out of seven. She just told me and my camera to keep our distance.

    Like

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

