Rain at Last / Blogging

Weather Report

Rainpipe - Home while it Lasted

Rainpipe - Home while it Lasted

I prefer warm and dry days to rainy and cold ones. But after a spring like this one, it’s a relief to see that it’s raining, and that the rain has become continuous.

It feels good, too. When I was caught by a squally shower a few days ago, on my way home by bike, even that felt good. Some farmers may look at it as a bad joke, but it’s surprising how much of the crops still seems to recover, even if the first silage of the year was very poor.

Blogging

All in all, the English-language, China-related blogosphere seems to have become much calmer than what it used to be – here, too. Probably for a number of reasons, but not least for these commenting rules, readers may think carefully before commenting on these blogposts, and that’s a good thing. But across the board, or where I’m reading, anyway, comment activites have slowed down. One might attribute that to a decrease of interest in China, at least among newsreaders, even if not in terms of business or investment. But the opportunities to read about China, including translations from Chinese-language sources, have broadened a lot.

Danwei has drawn its own conclusions:

So we have decided to change our focus. We’re relaunching on Danwei.com. We will publish periodic issues based around a theme, rather than daily news updates.

That said, Justrecently’s Beautiful Blog has never been about daily news updates. I merely focus on topics that interest me, and see this blog as, well, part of the internet. I may miss out on important trends or even big single events, and I take this opportunity to recommend every blog or website I’ve linked to at my blogroll to the right, underneath the comment section and the Three Represents (Net Nanny / Hermit / Good Ganbu). Besides, when looking at this blog’s statistics on a month-to-month basis, from 2011 back to 2008, “visits” have risen every year so far. So there seem to be some interested readers, and ClustrMaps (according to who the numbers would be much smaller than what the WordPress stats suggest) shows hits from all over the globe, including China.

So I’ll happily muddle on. No Facebook account, no YouTube channel (although I’ve given that some thought more recently – still pondering the idea), and no Twitter. A blog appears to be the ideal platform to write (publicly) what I want to write.

9 Responses to “Rain at Last / Blogging”

  1. All this FB and Twitter connect. Muddle on without them, JR. Maintain the line.

    Rationales for maintaining a blog. Follow a consistent interest, or an even more restricted position.

    I write strictly for myself in order to keep my spelling up to scratch and to ward off senility.

    God, I hate Danwei and would like to off-with-prejudice a certain cross-site mafia which exists.

    Can’t get past the view that the golden days of Sino-English blogs is now well past and their readership is now diminishing.

    Here the weather is exquisite. Cold mornings. Dry sunny days.

    Like

  2. I write strictly for myself in order to keep my spelling up to scratch and to ward off senility.
    That’s what I’m keeping several passwords for, KT!

    God, I hate Danwei and would like to off-with-prejudice a certain cross-site mafia which exists.
    Compared to most of the mainstream media, they are probably still a boy scout club, re mafia. But it’s certainly striking how frequently mainstream media depend on them, rather than on their own correspondents. If the blogosphere is declining (as you suggest it is), the papers are declining even faster. I’m afraid I can imagine Danwei’s movies in the pipeline, too – stuff similar to what you’d find on our tv channels here. But then, maybe that’s what the audience is asking for. What can you do? When you are a commercial platform, you’ll probably need to be a quality taker. But then, the internet is a freer environment than the press. This is stuff from 2009. The author, Adam Soboczynski, made some good points, I believe, but all the same, I also seem to see his worries behind it, that his own connections may not be as useful as they had been before.

    Can’t get past the view that the golden days of Sino-English blogs is now well past and their readership is now diminishing.
    Yes, maybe. But as I wrote above, maybe it is basically the same number of interested readers, shared by many more blogs. Besides, my stats are still going up (but so is spam).

    Have a good week!

    Like

  3. Enjoyed reading that link, JR. The fast and furious style of net writing is a bit like fairy floss. Some readers will always want to go beyond and seek out serious well-written pieces, which horror or horrors, also provides linked references.
    For someone who has only owned a computer for four years, I absolutely revel in the prospects of having my scribble read by others.

    Finally, I will give you a serious prediction. While many genres of writing will gravitate to the kindle format, this migration will never happen to cookbooks, which are by far one of the best selling formats here in Oz.

    Bit of fun on PD for once!!

    Like

  4. What’s a kindle format, KT? The shelves are full of cookbooks here, too, usually written by television star cooks. As we don’t have television here, our cookbooks are mostly inherited or written by ourselves. That, plus a very local cookbook co-written by a number of neighbors.

    As for well-written pieces with linked references, I think Wikipedia belongs to the best stuff that can be found on the internet. I have never contributed there myself, and won’t anytime soon (i. e. not during the coming years), but I appreciate the documentation they provide on all kinds of topics. (That said, a serious thesis should never use Wikipedia as a source – it’s changing content, after all.)

    Like

  5. I haven’t been writing recently because I have nothing to write about. When I do, I will, but in the meantime I’ll keep reading here and elsewhere.

    Like

  6. Yes, I like Wikipaedia and also use them, but if a student served up an essay, thesis or PhD with wiki references, I would fail them with extreme prejudice and then throw them down a lift/elevator well.

    That said, access to traditional library services is a real problem for students completing any type of degree in a country other than their own. Not to forget the fact that they miss the opportunity to discuss their ideas and reading materials with others over coffee. Completing a higher degree is a lonely enough business as it is: if your only interaction is with a computer moniter, you are definitely going to turn out second or third grade research findings. I feel for a couple of people I know completing research programs while working in China.

    Like

  7. If people tell me that they are going to base their research solely on sources in China, I’ll throw them down a lift/elevator well, KT.

    I’m looking forward to your next post, Foarp.

    Other news: there is irrefutable proof that Hermit speaks not only English, but Chinese, too.

    Like

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

